"Tutty"

I thought I knew this chap when I saw him at a funeral we had to go to today. I said to him who was he & he said I'm a farmer - well I knew that. Turned out he was farmer Tutt who lives in the next village from where I was born - he was very jovial today & he made me smile in that he kept lighting his pipe every few seconds - I don't think there was any bacca in it any way !! We also met Mr & Mrs David Jefferies (see extra) very nice farming folk who used to live in Charndon also but now they live in a small place near Banbury in Oxfordshire. He was saying that he still rides a horse every day & that he also trains a couple for Point to Point racing . I asked him his age and all he would say was that he was 70 +. 

Tutty knew my family of course as they were farmers too. The Jefferies didn't know the name but they only lived in Charndon for 44 years so they were newbies really !

I have also posted a picture of the venue for the wake which was a very nice affair. I think all family & friends gave Hilda a fabulous send off. I didn't know Hilda very well but I knew 2 of her daughters.  C & I still meet up with one of them (& hubby S) for a meal & a catch up. I think that J & S will miss her very much...

Hilda, her late husband Harry & all the family lived in a village close to where I was born . I played in the local brass band with J & her sister H so knew them very well. 

The day started cloudy but gradually the sun got his hat on & it couldn't have been a better day :-)

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.