SilverImages

By SilverImages

Old Man Crazy to Photograph

"If I could only have one more day, I could do a great painting."
Hokusai Katsushika

Feeling somewhat  inspired by the BBC4 programme "Hokusai; Old Man Crazy to Paint".  Watched it on iPlayer last night, thoroughly absorbed by the  study of how the creative impulse guided his life from 1760 to 1849.  There may be hope for me yet, Hokusai famously said "When I was 50 I had published a universe of designs. But all I have done before the age of 70 is not worth bothering with."  Still a few years to go before I'm due to hit 70 but I felt the same way about my photos in 1998 when I discovered a leaflet from the RPS about improving B/W photography.  I followed the guide and there was an instant improvement; still a long way to go.  By then I'd already made money from selling photos to magazines, individuals and publishers for a couple of books and was even employed as a corporate photographer.  Making a living from it was much easier than making photos I was happy with.    I like a quote I saw a few years ago by Imogen Cunningham when asked “Which of my photographs is my favourite? The one I’m going to take tomorrow.”

There were some interesting insights in the Hokusai programme, including the view that if we make it to 60 then that part of lives is complete and we get to start again - may explain my inertia for the past year or so; not yet decided what to be for the next 10 years or so.  Still making a living from my various abilities - even been paid for doing watercolours - so plenty of variety still.  The creative Muse will no doubt assist with direction.

And so today I headed out this afternoon in search of a photo - not a long search as there's so much all around.  I was calling in to Newport to Barnabas Arts Centre and decided on a quick visit to one of my reliable locations, the Usk Footbridge at Newport.  It doesn't disappoint!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.