SilverImages

By SilverImages

Waiting for Godot

"We are all born mad. Some remain so." 
Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

Started the day with a walk with J and temporary resident Ollie.  Usual haunt, two locks and towards Malpas.  Fairly quiet at 8am, just a few cyclists heading off to work in Newport direction and the occasional walker.

K has arranged to visit Newport this morning, first time since the op. on her foot,  so I do the taxi service.  Once she is settled in, listening to the Blameless Hussies [singers, not moaners], I head off in search of a photo [and somewhere for lunch if truth be told].  The Usk footbridge is an obvious draw for me, being so close and full of potential, and it's a pleasant stroll in the warm late morning sunshine.  Hortons coffee shop beckons, it's at the far end of the footbridge from the town, and I get a friendly welcome even though I'm only browsing to see what's on offer - plenty of selection so a return trip is on the cards.  Stroll back to collect K, drive around to the car park near the Riverfront and it's only a short dap across the bridge.  Another brownie point for the staff, they remember me and take the trouble to welcome me back - good customer skills.  So we enjoy a relaxing lunch outside overlooking the river.  Fully fed and watered, it's only a short hobble back across to the car park then home.  Meditation time and some sorting out of photos on the computer...zzzzzz 

Watched a profile of John Denver on catch-up TV this evening.  Not a trendy singer to own up to liking at the time [or probably since], but when was I trendy?  Particularly enjoyed his account of the inspiration for Annie's Song, a song that really "spoke" to me at the time, but the background to which I've only just become aware.  He described a moment when his senses were filled with awareness of the world around him after skiing in the mountains above his home in Aspen, Colorado [before it became popular].  The sort of peak experience that is described as spiritual - and if you've never had one then words can't adequately describe it, although a good writer can convey something of the sense of it - and that maybe is what I found in his lyrics.  The programme also drew a sketch of the person behind the performer, and his support for Jacques Cousteau as well as his struggle with being a popular "star".   Liked him then and like him now.  As I reflect on the most influential songs from my earlier years, I'm now reminded of how they carried many levels of meaning beyond being "nice tunes".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.