Bluedot/Day 2: Pulsars, Orbital, and Soulwax

If I had only one grievance about last year's Bluedot, and I think I do, then it would be the showers. This year, though, that issue had been remedied and I only had to wait a short while before enjoying a hot shower. This aspect of glamping is what attracts me the most (with the loos a close second).

The Minx had rigged up her stove so we were all treated to bacon rolls and fresh coffee, too, before we went into the festival. Today's science was a lecture on Pulsars, which I went to mainly because it was a talk based around how they can be used to test general relativity. It's amazing to think that in the hundred years since Einstein came up with it, it's not failed a single test!

If you aren't a regular festival goer, it's worth pointing out that quite apart from the music, one of the other attractions is the huge variety of food on sale, which really appeals to Dan, who works hard not to have the same meal twice. And, having eaten, we went along to the main stage to watch Goldfrapp. The show wasn't quite as good as when the Minx and I saw her play at the Lowry but, even so, it was a cracking set. 

I have to say I had low expectations of this evening's main act, Oribital. I have a few bits and pieces by them and I've played a number of their tracks on the radio but I've never been that excited by them. Plus, I assumed they'd deploy the Underworld/Leftfield tactic of simply boosting the drums as loud as they could.

I couldn't have been more wrong. Having decided I'd give them three tracks before finding something else to do I spend the whole of their show absolutely engrossed. It was simply the best live electronic music show I've ever seen. It was perfect for both the festival and the venue itself. It would be hard to pick a high point but one contender must be when the BBC Radiophonic Workshop joined them to perform an Orbitalised rendition of the theme from 'Doctor Who'. 

After that, I was so excited that I was in the mood for more music, and we decided to give Soulwax a listen. Again, I have a few bits and pieces by them but live they were a whole different proposition, not least because they had three drummers, all perfectly synchronised in both their time-keeping and what they were playing. 

****
No scales
0 words

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.