Bluedot/Day 3: Antarctic Ice, Shobaleader One, Alt

It can be complicated loving another human being but we are able to have a very simple and pure love for inanimate objects. One of the objects that I love - apart from a particular one of my Lamy pens and the mug that the Minx painted for me - is the Lovell telescope. I never get tired of looking at it and I must have photographed it thirty or forty times, this weekend. I think my dream job might be 'person who looks after the Lovell telescope'.

Anyway... back to the festival! Early this afternoon we went to see a talk given by Robert Mulvaney entitled 'The Hunt For The Oldest Ice On Earth', which was far more interesting and absorbing than you might initially think and I can testify to this by the fact that both Dan and the miniMinx seemed completely engrossed. 

Later in the afternoon, I went to the final of Simon Not Quite Light's low light photography sessions. I made it to the primer on Friday but missed the actual photography session last night because I was too absorbed in Orbital although I did sit up and take some low light photographs when we got back from Soulwax. This afternoon, he showed us how to edit our photos taken in low light, which he made look very easy and he achieved impressive results from my efforts. 

Music-wise, we started off this evening with Shobaleader One on the Orbit stage, who were every bit as crackers and excellent as when we saw them at the Brudenell Social Club. (I only wish their album wasn't so pants.) And then it was time for Alt-J. I'd been really looking forward to seeing them but, truth be told, they were a bit disappointing. Their performance was note for note perfect but it was just like hearing the album versions of the songs played over a large PA (not that that's a bad thing). In the end, I moved away from my preferred spot by the sound desk and went back to stand with the Minx. 

****
No scales
0 words

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.