kevinmcc

By kevinmcc

Think deep

I met Alex as he was suiting up in preparation for a dive at Seacrest Park, which is a popular diving spot in West Seattle.

You can usually find a half dozen or more divers on any given evening, even after dark. It is not uncommon to see divers even in the winter time.

The weather really does not matter, as the divers wear drysuits, and the cold waters of Puget Sound only vary from about 45 F in January to maybe 55 F in July.

There is a small beach right next to the parking lot that enables the divers to just wade into the water and then submerge to 50 - 75 feet below the surface.

There is even a fresh water outdoor shower on the dock, so divers can rinse the saltwater off their gear after a dive.

I have several diver friends, and I hear it can be a much more expensive hobby than photography :) One friend told me he spent about $7K to get fully outfitted with gear.

I took a scuba diving class way back in high school. It was kind of fun at the time, but I think I'll just stick with photography :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.