Another Languedoc year...

By SweetApricots

Great escape

Driving home on a long straight road from Beziers with Mum, we were suddenly faced with a car that pulled out from a blind drive straight in front of us.

I jammed on the (newly replaced) brakes, whereupon the car following us smashed into our boot. I swerved to avoid the car in front and it crashed into our rear passenger door. I pulled up onto the verge and went back to speak with the other two drivers. Both their cars looked written off. One was a young chap who'd only passed his test in March. The other was a woman with some kids - she walked off into her house and was replaced by her husband who came out having heard the crash. He flatly refused to show me her driving licence and told me the car had no. Controle Technique (MOT) and no insurance.

I called the cops who refused to come if no-one was injured. So what was I to do? It's difficult to be eloquent when one is shocked - and in a second language. So Mum and I drove away. Now we have to weigh up whether it will be more economic to lose my No Claims Bonus or pay for the repairs myself.

I can thoroughly recommend the Renault Kangoo 4x4. This is the only damage after a 50mph crash. The Fiat Panda that hit our towbar caused no damage to us but crumpled under the impact. The Renault Megane was a wreck after crashing into our side. My, were we lucky. Thank goodness no-one lost their life. It was mighty close.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.