Soppy Alert..

.. I spent the early part of this morning in a Churchyard. (I was waiting for someone and I had the camera with me; I was rather hoping for some butterflies or insects).

Inevitably, I looked around and started to read the gravestones. Many were interesting and, of course, touching. (One made me laugh, I might save that for an emergency blip another day!).
More than one brought a tear to my eye.

The lovely atmosphere in that quiet and sacred place filled me with a blissful joy. The final line of a beautiful poem by Leonard Clark kept repeating in my mind...  'And Heaven's fields are these'...

Leonard Clark was, in fairness, referring to Birdlip Hill in his poem called 'This Night The Stars', but I hope he wouldn't mind my borrowing his sentiments regarding these fields. 

(I don't know the 'rules' about copying a poem on here, so I shan't risk it. I have already been in trouble today for taking notes in a place where, apparently, I shouldn't have).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.