AnnieBScotland

By AnnieBScotland

an inspiration

Today I met an amazing lady - Rosita McKenzie from Portobello in Edinburgh - she is a blind photographer.

She came to speak to our committee about her work.

Rosita , with her assistant Morwenna from the Stills Gallery, explained how she went about taking pictures, with help on lighting levels and then with downloading the photos and selecting the best ones. She said she does no post processing, and if something is squint, then that adds to the charm!

Her enthusiasm and determination were humbling.

She's done exhibitions with the Botanical Gardens in Edinburgh and had a show at the Festival in 2010 about ordinary Edinburgh People. We saw slides of her latest works - long exposure abstracts mostly taken on Portobello beach and I have to say some were so beautiful they brought a tear to my eye. If I could produce anything half as good I would be one happy bunny!

Rosinta's website, if you are interested, ishere , but I have to say it isn't very up to date - all down to funds I guess. Watch out for her if you are around the Edinburgh area, or better still if you are in a camera club why not ask her to come and do a talk/presentation!

"This whole process helps me to burn something into my memory, something I can use to recall as images in your head can become less clear."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.