Angels in Henley-in-Arden (Don't blink)

There is a very unusual art exhibition in the parish church of St John the Baptist, Henley-in-Arden, Warwickshire (at the heart of Shakespeare country). Celia Kilner has produced an impressive array of angels, taken from works of art from round the world, and they are on display in this delightful church.

She has taken her inspiration, apart from her religious beliefs, from sacred art from museums and churches as far afield as Ethiopia, Italy, Ireland, the UK, and France. I particularly loved one based on a work by Jacopo di Cione, now in The National Gallery.

The view is towards the altar.
Other perspectives:
Musician Angels from Bruges
Angel by di Cione

A typical view of Henley-in-Arden High Street

I had gone to Henley-in-Arden for lunch in a wonderful restaurant, The Bluebell. It has been voted Midlands Pub Restaurant of the Year and the accolade was well deserved. VERY good value - and the highlights for me were the Calvados ice cream (made by one of their three talented chefs) and the speciality sourdough.... We'll be back.

It took me 40 minutes to get there (I was early enough to browse round the exhibition and to treat myself to some lovely ear rings) but the return journey was typical for the West Midlands on a Friday. I couldn't get near the M42 and it took me two hours..... but it was worth it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.