By The Sea

Finally I caught up with France Dweller! With her son we went to the lovely seaside village of  Cawsand on The Rame Peninsula which looks out onto Plymouth Sound. It's a place kind of lost in time - families on holiday with buckets, spades and fishing nets, dogs, things for mucking about on the water! The houses are all beautifully painted, flowers everywhere in containers and tasteful decorated windows with a seaside theme. Plenty of pubs and a fish and chip shop! It seems a place where innocence reigns supreme.
We happily pootled around for most of the day - lunch in the pub, coffee overlooking the beach, ice cream in the village square - sweet marmalade for me - it's now my new favourite flavour! We scrambled over the rocks and looked in the pools, we people watched, France Friend bought a pair of silver pastie earrings! They actually looked really good! Whilst she lives in France they are a reminder of home.
Certain things really stood out for me so I am adding them as extras! The sweet elderly couple, the girl getting a piggy back into the sea, the decorative features, the pub with people drinking, chatting, eating ice creams. There were some young lads jumping off a high wall into the sea which made us stand and stare which are with all the other sights of the day here - the ferry arriving, the rock pools, the boats. Can you tell I had a lovely day?! Not only is it a lovely place, I was with a close friend I miss since she moved to France, her son was such good company, and Cawsands holds happy memories for me of when I took my dad here, and a few years later my mum and sister. It was in mums last year and she bought herself a painting at the gallery - quite expensive and most unusual for mum to splurge! 
The funniest part of the day was when we overheard a mother admonishing  her daughter for speaking posh by saying " We're from Nuneaton not London!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.