Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Poor hedge!

I awoke to find something furry under my chin (Archie's front legs) and something hard and heavy on top of my head (Archie's head). We dozed happily like that for another hour or so.

I was only vaguely aware of the neighbour cutting his hedge, which seemed strange, as it was raining. The neighbour then seemed to be doing something even noisier, like, perhaps, a pneumatic drill... I went to look out and saw hard hats and hi-viz jackets out at our gate - they were removing the old BT box and replacing it with a bigger one.

When I took a reluctant Archie out in the rain, I saw what they had been up to. Our hedge had been slashed back to make way for a new bigger box. And yes - they did cut through our Virgin Media cables, so we were without internet and TV (just as well there was no sport on) most of the day.

There was nothing for it but to go to the gym. I did half an hour on the low bike, but put the level up to 18, which was hard going. JR also went - she rarely misses a day.

The sun came out in the afternoon, so JR and Archie went to the Links. I had a snooze.

I wonder how long it'll take before graffiti appears on the new, big, clean, green BT box...

And how long will it take for the hedge to recover?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.