Just a parrot's life

By ellenparrots

Mickey's 17th birthday, at the rainbow bridge

Happy Hatchday at the Rainbow Bridge Mickey! 

Senegal Parrot Mickey lost her fight against Cushing's disease
In the early morning of 5 January 2013, Mickey, the senegal parrot of Ellen Uittenbogaard, passed away in peace due to the effects of Cushing's disease.
Mickey's name will always be associated with Cushing's disease in birds. She was the first parrot with this disease, not only in its early stages, but she also was the first bird to live long term with the disease and to be successfully treated.
Because there was nothing known about a medication for birds with this disease, the veterinary faculty in Utrecht gently began using medication already proven successful in other species. Thereby a proper dose was found and Ellen was able to treat and control the Cushing's disease for a long time with Mickey. At the end of December the phenomena of overeating, excessive drinking and excessive weight gain suddenly came back.
The medication in the past year was several times successfully updated. There were increasing signs that hormone production from the adrenal glands to stop suppressing the dose was making it difficult for Mickey and updating the medication dose.
Therefore on 4 January this year, an ultrasound and in addition blood samples for research were conducted. From these studies it indicated that the liver was so affected by the prolonged high levels of adrenal hormones, Mickey's liver was no longer functioning properly which eventually resulted in her passing to the effects of Cushing's disease.
After Mickey's death, on the same day an autopsy was carried out. This confirmed that Mickey indeed had Cushing's because of a tumor in one of her adrenal glands.
After Mickey's death, Ellen received enormous of support from people all over the world in the form of cards, drawings, emails, facebook messages, a painting, etc.
Ellen is enormously grateful, indeed ......... it gives her a lot of support. The following are some reactions. Concluding with a beautiful poem for Mickey.
Drs. Peter Bastiaansen, Dierenkliniek De Baronie - February 2013
Here a selection of reactions:
Dear Ellen-- Arlene Levin just let me know about Mickey's passing....I'm so sorry. Words are pretty useless at times like these; all I can say, from experience, is that time does heal...but far more slowly and less thoroughly than we are led to believe. Mourn in your own time, at your own pace... Take care of yourself...that's also difficult at such times, but is really important... Lots of love, Irene Dr. Irene Pepperberg
Dear Ellen, I am so sorry to hear that your beloved Mickey passed away. Thank you for being such a good Mom to her. It was clear in the photos and videos that you had great love for Mickey. She was blessed to have such a loving Mom. Wishing you many blessings as you go through these difficult times. With sympathy, Ted Lafeber
God Bless You Ellen. It is Because of you that Mickey Flourished with the Love given to her and she in turn returned it back to you. She will be forever in Your and Our Hearts. And without All of Your Love and Compassion Mickey lived longer to Give and Receive the Love. Donna Warren
I just heard the saddest news...Mickey, the Senegal with Cushings Disease, has flown to the Rainbow Bridge. Such a brave and spirited girl who showed us all that little souls can fight heroic battles. I take my hat off to the Avian community everywhere, they pulled together for the love of her and also for her Mum, Ellen ....who courageously and selflessly fought for sweet Mickey every single day. RIP Mickey, another Earth Angel with Heavenly Wings, who is sorely missed the entire world over. It's a very very sad day. Jane Ayres
I just heard and I am devastated to hear the sad, sad news regarding our little friend Mickey. She was so beautiful and a sweet as honey little birdy. To Ellen. I am sending the biggest hug that is possible to give and to let you know that I am here for you when you want to talk. I am so very sorry for your loss. Goodbye, sweet Mickey darling. Fly free over Rainbow Bridge, out of pain in the sunshine. I will never forget you. You are a special birdie Love from Corinne XXXXXXXX Corinne Graehame
I came here to see an update on Mickey and was not expecting this at all. So very sad. I cried as if I lost one of my own. It's amazing how we get attached just by following on facebook. Please be at peace, sweet Mickey. You brought much joy to everyone, especially your mama, Ellen. Thoughts and prayers for you and Mickey and your flock, Ellen Rose Sharpe
Ellen, people all over the world are mourning the loss of Mickey right along with you. You are the best parront I know and Mickey was indeed blessed to call you mom. Marilyn Carmody
What sad news this is. I had come to believe that the doctors could really save Mickey and that Ellen would be rewarded with her presence for so many years, as would we. She is not suffering any more. But Ellen dear, we are with you, we hold your hand from afar. I cannot say more, there are no words that can really convey my feelings, we loved Mickey too and I am particularly sad. Praying for you and little Mickey. Cristina Loayza
Gone to the Rainbow Bridge
Hey baby girl, so sweet and so dear, 
We thought you’d be with us year after year. 
An unforeseen happening snatched you away,
Yet here in our hearts you will always stay. 
We loved you so much, our dear little bird,
Now tears fill our eyes, and we have pain in our heart,
With sadness and grief, they’re so heavy it seems, 
As visions of you fill our thoughts and our dreams. 
The great Rainbow Bridge seems so far away,
Yet it took but an instant, and it’s there that you lay.
A new day is dawning as I look to the sky, 
And then with excitement you have started to fly. 
‘Up up’ and away so many birdies to greet, 
Lined there upon Heaven’s most glorious street. 
Don’t worry Mama, my Mama, so dear, 
I have arrived.......I am now safely here! 
No more suffering or pain, I’m free as a bird,
Isn’t this true, and what you have heard? 
When it's your time to join me, here I will wait,
We’ll be together again, I'll greet you at the gate.
I'll always love you, Mama, My Mama So Dear!
Sue Mayer
I, Ellen, want to thank my 3 avian vets (Peter Bastiaansen, Yvonne van Zeeland and Nico Schoemaker) who were there for me and Mickey for more than 100%. They were there for me and my girl, if it was through email or through (urgent) visits to the clinic. My care for Mickey but especially THEIR care for Mickey made it possible that Mickey had a wonderful live during 1,5 years having this disease.
Ellen Uittenbogaard
ellen.parrots@gmail.com

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.