Through Jo's Lens

By Jo8lens

Muay Thai Boxing

Lewis (on the right) had his first inter club Thai boxing bout this morning. His friend, Kyle, is also a keen Thai boxer and he was first to spar. The boxer Kyle was fighting looked pure thug and much more experienced. My heart was in my mouth but Kyle had height on his side and he held his own. He did really well.

A few more bouts before Lewis got to take to the ring. His opponent was also called Lewis, similar in height and build. It's difficult to describe the feeling of watching your child, for the first time, in a boxing ring but it's a mixture of nerves, fear and adrenaline. I was amazed by the power and impressed by how respectful the boxers were. I was glad that I knew other supporters there and we could be there for each other.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.