Who am I to disagree?

By longshanks

Spotted Crake

After Yesterday's success with the Baillon's Crake I was inspired to give the Spotted Crake another go after dipping out on Sunday. So the plan was an early start and give it until 9:00.

I was there before 7:30 and shortly later was joined by one other birder. No sign by 8:30 when I got rather excited at finding a brown bird wandering through the reeds. Really couldn't get a clear view, but eventually decided t may well just have been a Snipe and this was confirmed when we eventually saw three in a more out in the open.

This bit of excitement kept me beyond my 9:00 deadline, which was just as well as there wandering round the side of the reeds was the Spotted Crake giving excellent views. I tried to get the other birder onto it but he didn't pick it up and then t was gone and I hadn't even tried to get it in the camera, so you'll have to make do with a general shot of the reedbeds at Stanwick GPs - there's a Spotted Crake in that photo somewhere!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.