Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Remnants

I got a pretty good look around today.  It's been two days since our violent storm.  I have since found out that there was a lightening strike in my neighborhood, though I don't know exactly where yet.

The photo is one of a massive ocotillo, blown apart by the wicked wind and horizontal rain.  It wasn't the only one like that on the street/hill leading up to my house, either.  The first extra is what an undamaged ocotillo (ok-o-tee'-yo) is supposed to look like.  They are rarely damaged during strong storms because the whips (branches) are very flexible. 

While surveying a little damage in my yard, I noticed the really pretty hummingbird thermometer that hangs on my neighbors' patio was missing.  That prompted me to check out their yard.  The thermometer, which was made of a heavy ceramic, was broken into pieces (second extra) which were scattered on the stones.  They had some other minor damage, worse than mine.  They are snowbirds who reside in Michigan, so I let them know what happened.

I was out today because I needed groceries.  I ordered them online yesterday and had to pick them up this afternoon.  My neighbor, Michele, helped me carry the cold and frozen stuff inside.  The dry goods are still in my trunk and will be carried into the house one bag at a time over the next couple of days.

You might be able to tell that it was pretty dark and gloomy again today.  It rained but it was really only spittle, nothing measurable.  Chances of rain dwindle considerably over the next couple of days, and as of this moment, there is a whole week forecast to be sunny.  I do  like variety!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.