horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

A Dean Adder

Finally. Been going to Woodhall Dean for years now, and despite the signs warning of adders, we've never spotted one there. Till now. And I almost missed it, given it was at a steep set of steps, and having already lost my footing at one point, I was checking my feet to avoid falling and knackering my arm. That was slightly frustrating as if I'd been looking up and ahead it would have been head height and made for a great shot. As it was I had to make do with it scurrying across the path behind me after I'd passed, having been alerted to it by Mel.

Took the old Mini for a spin later. Just one more step on the recovery, though it seems to have taken offence at being garaged for 6 weeks, and so the windscreen wipers stopped working, as did the rev counter. Jobs to be added to the new chalkboard I added to the garage yesterday to note what needed to be done. Still got back with a smile on my face though.

Waiting for the chicken pastilla to cook just now, which smells great; a fair day of cooking, having opened with sweet potato pancakes for breakfast. If only it wasn't Sunday, with the promise of a hectic day of work in the offing tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.