twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

An hour of collecting together tent, stove, boots then Lidl for essentials of pasta, cereal bars, bacon and rolls. A foray into the Inverlael forest beckons!

And after that I went to meet her for a bike ride. To Fife! I know, so exotic... A stiff breeze was in our faces as we navigated through Haymarket and onto Route 1 and off we went at a modest pace. 

The slog up to Dalmeny was negotiated fine and onwards to the middle bridge - the new one still covered in vehicles with orange flashing lights, the old one majestic as ever. See, she'd never been across the FRB on a bike or on foot; only in a car. So that done, we did little more than touch Fife and headed back. Speeding along with the former head wind now at our backs. 

The forecast was right and rain didst come so we took the blue cheese broad bean spinach and other left over veg soup back to hers and had an indoor picnic. A (whisper it) lazy afternoon, then I cooked us dinner- some cod with wedges and an alioli dressing and some broad beans (basically fish and chips and mushy peas...) 

Bloom was on; 1000 St Andrews Square - I'd been given tickets from royalty - I had hoped there might be a royal enclosure or a royal box to go with the royal tickets, but no... Given I hadn't seen the previous two Festival opening things (Harmonium and the Mogwai / Castle thing) I didn't have the sense of meh that others seem to have had; I enjoyed the spectacle and sound before heading off down the hill on the bike to get some sleep in. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.