lovelife209

By mindful_life

Abstract Thursday -time

Day 12... today was actually cloudy! But it was quite welcome as it meant we could walk around a little without get as hot!

We took a walk to the Japanese gardens. They are beautiful and peaceful which is a contrast to the business that surrounds it.

Today's challenge for abstract Thursday is time and I thought I would put a twist on this for my blip. The passing of time is a measured by a clock now, by how many hours are in the day, days in the week, weeks in a year etc etc. In our day to day lives we are always answerable to the time of day, whether it's getting into work, getting kids to school, appointment times and deadlines and what time you have your meals.

I am certainly someone who is very punctual and hate to be late but this admittedly adds stress to my life. Sometimes things don't go accordingly to plan and that's life - maybe one of the children can't find their shoe, or needs the toilet as we head out of the door. I get very stressed at the thought of being late but this is something man has created and imposed on us.

What would happen is we took away all those time restraints - ate when we fancied it, not at 'mealtimes', woke up when we had had enough sleep and not by an alarm (I know some of you are able to do this anyway!). Today sitting in the Japanese garden we sat and just observed - the fish in the water, the dragonfly we saw flying around, the pond skater my son spotted and the lovely trees, fountains and flowers in the garden. We just let time pass us by - because we could. We are on holiday we don't have the same time constraints we normally have and it is truly delightful. I am certainly more relaxed about getting ready in the morning, when we all go to bed and when we eat lunch! Sometimes it 3pm before we eat lunch!

When I go home I am going to try and relax a little more about time pressures where I can.

Thank you for today's challenge- it has given me an opportunity to reflect on time xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.