40

Today my youngest daughter was 40. Unbelievable. This is the cake I made - it was a bit of a disaster so I covered it with masses of chocolate which she'll not object to.

It was, for a change, a lovely sunny day, so after breakfast I walked 2.5 miles over the moor to take a bag of courgettes to Ailie. By the time I'd walked back and sorted the cake it was time to get going to town.

#3 daughter was having lots of friends round with their children from lunchtime onwards, so we attended for the last hour, then I helped with Ella and Nathaniel while their mum got ready to come out. #2 daughter and husband arrived and the 6 of us had a glass of champagne then went out for a meal to celebrate. The restaurant had a lovely view over the river, between the swing bridge and high level bridge. The Asian food was nice too.

Now bed - Thomas and James are coming tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.