High above the Fog

As I was due to compete in the Ilkley Triathlon today I was quite keen to get a good night's sleep but I somehow didn't turn in until well after midnight and then I found myself awake this morning at 6.15am. I would have tried to resist waking up fully but I could see a heavy mist outside and I find that impossible to ignore these days. It's amazing to me how I always seem to know when a temperature inversion is occurring. Somehow my intuition seems to get a message through to bring me out of a deep sleep. It happens every time. I could almost of wished it hadn't this morning as I found myself walking up towards the moor just 15 minutes later in order to try to catch the sunrise and feeling distinctly groggy.

My timing was perfect as I emerged above the mist just in time to catch the moment the sun appeared above the horizon. I then enjoyed a 4 hour walk, wandering all over the edge of the moor and taking loads of photographs. I've had quite a few magical days lately and this was certainly another. I'm not sure what other word I can use. The only problem such a day leaves is trying to choose which shot to blip. I have a number of very different photographs, all of which I love and really want to share. I've been looking for a convenient way of putting such sets of photographs into a story form and I think I've now found the ideal vehicle. Click here for a bit more magic!

I met up with my team for the Triathlon (sorry if I misled anyone, but I only did the cycle leg as I have a propensity to sink whenever I encounter water!) and found them psyched to beat a couple of local rival teams. After a bit of banter I went off to warm up on the bike and get in the zone. Unfortunately, after the beautiful start to the day the weather had deteriorated so that by the time I got on the road it was raining and quite breezy. The roads were quite slippery so I had to rein in the speed on the descent of Curly Hill and on the corners - my excuse for being a bit slower than last year. But we put in a creditable performance and we beat our rivals!

I seem to have been running late all day. Posting this and then need to cook some dinner. I'm suddenly starting to feel very hungry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.