Rain Stopped Play

It started raining yesterday just as I started my cycle leg of the triathlon and over 24 hours later it is still raining. There has been no let up, and the forecast suggests it's going to continue to rain heavily for another 24 hours. After work I popped down to the river to see how much water there was about. The answer was a lot! Denton Road was flooded and this shot was taken from a spot I passed doing the event yesterday. They could have held the swimming leg on the cricket field today! These benches are on the boundary edge at Olicanians CC. I tried to recruit people to sit on them for me bit I didn't get any takers. Pity that. It would have made for a really great shot.

I was supposed to have had a bit of a domestic weekend, trying to catch up with all sorts of odd jobs that have been neglected lately, but that went out of the window with the beautiful weather. No regrets over that, but I think we can now declare summer over and the cricket season well and truly finished. Better start tackling the laundry. I've got at least a month's worth of clothes to wash!

PS Discovered that we placed 5th yesterday out of 27 teams entered. One place better than last year and the same position as two years ago. I guess we should take that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.