Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

Land's end

Time and fate seem to blur lately. Charged events and junction points abound that ripple outward to distant horizons I cannot yet see..

With Sophia and everyone at the house away, and Vanessa visiting family in Christchurch I escaped Dunedin for a sojourn to the Catlin's Coast. The Catlins are a wild, windswept coast of rugged beaches and bays indenting the bottom tip of the South Island. Sparsely populated, except for sheep on the hills and seals on the beaches it is a special place. A place to get away and go within.

And so I took off on a pilgrimage adventure to explore and reflect. I have some food, water, wine, a good book, sleeping bag, headlamp, hiking boots, and most importantly the adventure van topped off with a full tank of fuel. It reminds me a little bit of scooby doo and I never know if it will start or suddenly break down, but it's free wheels to explore! On loan from Sophia, it even has a converted sleeping space in the back. And so I went off and rambled south to places I've never seen.

This is a shot from Nugget Point - the gateway to the Catlin's coast. A lighthouse rises up behind me from this point to guide ships while below cold waves from the southern ocean wash through Bull Kelp clinging to the rocks. Gulls soar on the strong winds and fur seals splash in tide pool nurseries on the rocky shelf below. This is land's end in the deep south...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.