bananablip

By bananablip

Cottage life

It's been a fun day today learning about how Canadians spend their summers before shutting down for the long cold winter. Families spend their whole summers up here on the lakes and there are some massively impressive summer houses and various bits of boating paraphernalia.

After breakfast this morning we hiked around a trail and I got eaten alive. It's been a long time since I've heard that familiar buzz of a mosquito in my ear and angry welts on my back. After running to the room to top up on sun cream and bug cream we headed out onto the lake. So vast and beautiful. I love the stillness of pulling up the oars and just sitting, taking in the awesome 'bigness' of the landscape.

After lunching on cheese and wine, I accidentally napped and then we accidentally let a chipmunk into the room. I think he likes cheese and wine.

We drove out to Parry Sound to visit their bookstore (immense) and then met a real life curler (also immense).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.