Floral Interlude

I had to take a break from all the ancestry stuff today and these lovely sweet peas from Mary Jo's garden were a perfect inspiration.

I'm still typing with 1 1/2 hands so it's slow going.  I've reached a spot in sorting things that I've reached many times before when attempting to finish this project.  About this time in the process is where I get overwhelmed and pack it all back up for another time. This time though, I have room to leave it out so I can close the door, take a breather and have another go at it when my brain isn't mush.   I need to work on my patience because this is going to take months, not weeks, and that's okay.  I just have to stop expecting things to get done quickly.  

I came face to face today with several envelopes full of brittle newspaper clippings with tiny, tiny print that I'm going to have to read.  Another envelope yielded a couple dozen handwritten letters c.1875 when they actually wrote in elegant cursive with pen and ink and flowery language.  On the positive side, the material I've read already has turned up some fascinating, and in some cases scandalous, tidbits.   And it turns out there are two books available at Amazon that are specifically about family members so I've added them to the pile.  Apparently, I'm subconsciously worried about running out of material.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.