Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

At another river

I love rivers and creeks more than any other bodies of water.  So today at almost half way into my 10 hour 500+ mile drive back home from Pennsylvania which began at 6:15am  (by myself..I had to call Jerry every couple of hours and let him know where I was..thankful for the cellphone..even though it was a pain in the butt to pull over to make the call! and I did do that!) but anyway..the story is not that but this.   I stopped in West Virginia at the New River Gorge Bridge Visitor Center for a leg stretch and numb bum walk so I said to myself..drive that road down to the bottom..what's another hour in the day.  So I headed down the one way road from the overlook at the bridge to the old bridge a couple miles below at the river.   So glad I did this.  I found a parking spot at the area where people can enter the river on kayaks or rubber rafts (Yes, I really want to learn to kayak!).   It was just gorgeous..weather, river, and the view of the bridge from below.  Some info here. New River Gorge Bridge

And after being in the city at my aunt's apartment, I really needed the forest bathing and breathing room this area provided.   

So now I have to convince the hubby that we need to make a trip up to West Virginia to explore this area.  The New River is a national wild and scenic river which actually starts out on a mountain not too far from the farm where my son and family live in North Carolina.   The river there is more like a wide creek but this part of the river is wider and deeper and in much higher mountains.    And just gorgeous..I already said that.    The bridge is pretty cool too..WAY WAY above the river.   

Visiting the river was really worth the extra hour that it added to my drive home.   But now I really need to crash into my bed.   

Hoping tomorrow to catch up on the last weeks comments and to look at journals.  I really miss not seeing what everyone is posting! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.