Plus ça change...

By SooB

Crop (not mine)

Another scorcher.

No tomato crop of my own this year (barring one small, neglected, self-seeded plant with two nearly ripe fruit) so I have procured some very cheap local tomatoes for sauce making. That burst of sunshine in the dreich mid-winter is not something I want to miss out on.

Lots of in-depth thinking about boiler-plate (law stuff). Sometimes it's a good idea to sweat the small stuff in case you've missed something. Lots of going round in circles about issues that - back in the day - I would have popped down the corridor to a colleague with my stupid question... Though it feels good that these days I have the confidence to just work it through by myself, mostly.

More frustratingly slow progress outside - the main problem being it is too hot to be out there for more than 20 minutes. Still that gave some cool indoor time on one of my breaks for some research on diagonal bracing - which turned out to be the answer to most of my problems.

And I finally had the confidence to just whack a chisel with a hammer to take out a chunk of wood. Using Mr B senior's woodworking tools gave me a moment I wasn't prepared for. Best make sure the job's up to his standards (well, part-way there anyway).

Tonight TallGirl is on a sleepover with a complicated friend (J for when that confuses the heck out of me in future) so CarbBoy and I are staying up late watching Friday Night Lights (neither of which TallGirl would normally allow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.