Plus ça change...

By SooB

Joey

He always looks so diffident in photos, not so much in life.

Another too hot to be outside day. Helpfully I ended up spending the morning sorting out a direct debit gone awry, in the cool of the office. This afternoon I braved the oven of outside and the sauna of the top floor workshop to finally finish all the notch cutting and placement for the pergola/rose thingy. I seriously don't know how there's any of me left - I must have sweated off at least four stone today (tmi?)

Part of the next phase involved staining some wood to vaguely match the rest of the assembled parts. It's not even close though, irritatingly, my fingers are now a perfect match.

Anyway, gazing, somewhat proudly, at my creation, I spotted a fairly fundamental design flaw, caused by trying to be smart with cutting and wastage. Tomorrow's trial is to see if Mr B spots it: if so I might have to rethink, if not I'll put my over-criticalness in the bottom drawer for a while.

TallGirl spent most of the day with her friend, who was less than monosyllabic when I collected TallGirl. Apparently she's like that with all grown ups. She's here next Tuesday; looking forward to that.

Later, CarbBoy to the orthophoniste, then off to the airport for the only slightly delayed Mr B.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.