And Still It Rains

We've now enjoyed over 52 hours of continuous rain. There was a little respite at lunchtime today where the rain turned to a light drizzle but, as far as I'm aware, it never completely stopped. And it's certainly raining as I write this. It's pouring down!

I went down to the river again after work, to see the scale of the flooding that had been reported. A lot of people had the same idea. I bumped into Muddyshoes, plus a few old friends I'd not seen all year. The tennis club was completely under water with the access road impassable. Everyone had a camera to record the scene. There was a shared sense of awe at the terrifying power of nature. The volume of water flowing in the Wharfe this evening was indeed awesome.

The chap on the bridge is standing at the precise place from where I took this shot in the summer. There was a lot more water today than back then. I'm posting this and doing a grocery run. Just realised how little food we have in the house! If the rain keeps up this might not be the best time to run out!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.