Paddy Lane

I went for a meeting with a prospective client, this morning. I'm not sure why, but I had a really negative feeling about the whole thing, which just goes to show how wrong you can be; I really got on well with the MD, the project looks good, and - blimey! - it's local, which is unusual for us. 

I thought I'd take a circuitous route back to the office because a) I like a drive b) I hate driving through Kendal and c) I wanted a bit of thinking time. I drove back through Meal Bank and then up onto Paddy Lane.

It's a long time since I've been up here and it always brings back memories of working at Scottish Provident. The office was at Bridge Mills (in Kendal) and I'd try and get out and run a couple of lunchtimes each week. I'd do a shorter run early in the week and then, on Friday, while everyone else was at the pub, I'd go for a longer run, often running up Sedbergh Road to the old Greyhound pub and then turning onto Paddy Lane. 

It's funny - and, of course, disconcerting - to think that was twenty years ago. I remember once, on a day off, I had to pop in to the office and I had Milly with me. She was too young even to walk and yet in a couple of weeks' time I'll be taking her off to start at university. 

****
-10.4 kgs
No words

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.