gingernan

By GingerNan

My beautiful Tree Peony..

I just heard the weather forecast for later today....its aweful.....so I thought I had better catch my blip early. Voyaged around the garden, Elsa bounding around like a maniac, and was quite blown away by this gorgeous plant. I have several of these, but because they take a few years to flower I don't remember it flowering before I went away. It is now about 1 1/2 metres tall and covered in these large blousy flowers.
Tree peonies were first cultivated 2,000 years ago in China from wild plants found growing in rocky places exposed to harsh extremes of temperature. The plants have also been bred since the 8th century in Japan, which has a climate similar to Britain.

Totally unrelated- I found this website this morning while googling tree peonies. Check it out- its mindblowing!!!!
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/gardening/gardeningpicturegalleries/9118566/Dew-soaked-bugs-Ondrej-Pakans-photos-of-insects-covered-in-drops-of-water.html?frame=2156187

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.