Stevens Shots

By StevenC44

Work Experience - Day 3

Hello Blippers! Hope your all well! :)

Today I spent the whole day in the Radar Approach Room (Seen here - Although I'm not sure if I can link a Flickr account - I just realised I had one about 10 minutes ago). On the morning shift (10-2 for me) Were 2 men called Chris and another one I can't remember. They were quite funny, and I got A LOT explained to me.

On the afternoon shift (2-5 for me) was a woman called Caroline, who was also quite funny. She didn't explain that much, but I asked her about a Trade Union (I'm not exactly sure what that is though) and she said there one "was useless"). She told me about the time that a mail plane had ditched into the River Forth shortly after take-off. She had been laughing and joking with the pilots earlier, but I don't think she was the one who dealt with the emergency (Official report here and news report here, just in case anyone was interested.)

On the way home, I realised I had my camera with me. I took a couple of pictures from the bus, but they weren't very good. This is the infamous Edinburgh Trams. The track was supposed to be completed in February 2011. As you can see, the trams are all still sitting in the little test bit, because the track hasn't been finished yet, and it's now not scheduled until 2014. Well done Edinburgh Council. Although I'd be surprised if anyone outside of Scotland knew the scale of it, or even that it's happening!

Tomorrow I think I'll be airside with ops - aviation talk meaning I'll be out with ground crew and/or firemen, although I'm not sure yet. It's gonna be great!

Enjoy the rest of the week!

Steven :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.