A dreich day

After the enjoyable weekend it was a downer to see the rain sweeping in today. At least it was mild and that it seemed to hold off for the Queensferry Crossing official opening.

I had to go it to the bank to get cash for my aunt and today was the only day I could do so with certainty given the travelling ahead this week. The blip conveys, I hope, the drabness of the day. ( it was that or yer more flowers!!)

Lots of officy things to address and I had to submit my comments to the Education and Skills Committee on the proposed Children and Young People (Information Sharing ) (Scotland) Bill. A very complex area with different tensions and interests, including parental rights, that need to be balanced while keeping the interests of children and young people to the fore. No easy answer.

This evening I caught up with the fascinating programme on BBC 2 on training to be an astronaut. Tremendous viewing.

Then in passing caught the Imagine programme on BBC 1 about Alma Deutscher who can only be described as a child prodigy. She has written an opera aged 11. But the sequence where she took 4 notes, selected at random, and - after just 40 seconds - began playing a composition was astonishing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.