SOME TIME AGO I SAW THE ROBIN

eat the red coloured seeds of the Euonymus. Exactly the kind of picture I would like to take.
However, always as I opened the backdoor the robins flew away hastely. So I thought they are just terrible shy. What chance do I have succeeding to make a photo even if I try to walk as softly as I can.
This morning I sweep the leaves of the oaktree on the drive and I see the two robins, one of them does not mind me being in her vicinity and comes nearer and nearer and sits almost on my foot.
I see her sitting in the Euonymus, hopping from one branch to another and then very quickly she picks a seed. For one moment I see it in her bill and then it is gone. I want a picture of that one second but no at the end I am glad to have a clear one of her sitting on a branch.
My neighbour tells me that the robins always come near when he is working in the garden. I am amazed I certainly never had experienced this before or never had paid attention to it.
Another amazing fact he tells is that he saw this very morning a black squirrel in the wild cherry tree. Not for long though as the red squirrel came and chased the black one away. Perhaps I can see them soon too.
Later I walk to the bakery and cannot resist to have a look at the beautiful roses and there I see the cricket again. A big green insect on a whitish pink rose how difficult is that to spot, well it is not if one knows there could be one.
I also see a Macroglossum stellatarum for the first time, an exiting sight as she does not sit on the flowers but hovers before them frantically.
How do I know her (latin) name? Well I decided to buy the Kosmos Guide of animals and plants. It gives german and latin names.

My haiku:

She seems to like me
The Robin as she comes near
Me to be admired?

And the proverb from the book:

Bind the sack before it is full.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.