Thursday: Lamppost

I went to a presentation by an Italian MP this morning which was followed by a question and answer session. We were all a bit perplexed when it turned out that he didn't actually speak English. Luckily my Italian colleague was on hand to interpret otherwise it would have been a most short session.

This evening I want to the opening of a Mexican-Chinese-Canadian art collaboration. My Chinese colleague was there too - rumour has it that he is a 70th generation descendant of Confucius. It doesn't stop him being a bit of a curious cove. He keeps re-introducing himself to me because he thinks I don't remember who he is - fact is, I do, so I find myself having to constantly reassure him.......maybe it's some form of Confucian modesty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.