Friday: Helijet

Together with my colleague, I had a day in Victoria today for a range of meetings. Normally, I go by seaplane for a day trip but today those flights were fully booked due to the opening of the legislature. So we ended up going by helicopter - my first time on one.

The meetings were pretty successful (even taking into consideration the 15 minutes one of my interlocutors spent telling us about the current state of Dutch politics - I know, I don't know why we were talking about that either).

Unfortunately, we missed our flight home due to bad traffic and our taxi not turning up. It turned out to be ok in a way, as a number of politicians whom I knew were on the flight. Given that some were governing party and some were opposition, sitting on opposite sides of the departure lounge, I had to do a bit of nifty flitting.

Due to our missed flight, we also had a fair bit of time to kill at the helijet terminal. Luckily I had a good book but my colleague had to read the flimsy inflight entertainment magazine five times and now knows all there is to know about elk.

I got home a lot later than anticipated so we just headed out locally for something to eat, it being Friday and all.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.