Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Back Blip- Iceland

It's hard to choose a photo for today - it could be the black beaches, the Dyrhólaey arch, the basalt cliffs, the waterfalls, the glaciers, the puffins  - pretty much every photograph I took was of something jaw dropingly gorgeous. Our driver, Logi, wore an Icelandic sweater, spoke very little (and in immaculate English), drove his big jeep like a maniac and snacked on dried fish - he may be the most Icelandic person I ever met. He took us along the south coast, returning to the scene of the stuck minibus from earlier in the year (which was alarmingly close to a sheer drop) and waiting patiently while we climbed the several thousand steps up the side of Skogafoss, and got soaking wet walking behind Seljalandfoss. I could blip those but my favourite photo of the day is this shot of the coastline - very Game of Thronesy to my mind. It was an incredible day - I loved every single minute, even the lamb hotdog. 

My Flikr shots are here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.