Comma Butterfly

I saw this guy and crept up with my point&shoot only for him to close up! I backed off and out came the colourful wings, mmmm back again to get closer and shut they went! Ok I can Wait! and eventually I got this shot not great compared with some of you awesome insect blippers but I loved the colours and he was so intent on feasting on the blackberries.
I looked up to see what sort of butterfly it is, when closed up it looked just like an autumn leaf or piece of bark.

Nymphalidea Family - Comma Polygonia c-album Male.

And funnily enough the picture on the uk butterfly site was taken on a blackberry bush!

Today, we had lunch at The Crown Inn at Loders,
Rob had lunch there or more like a pint! On the day of our wedding! (many years ago!!)

We then went for a walk which took us across my home farm out to the disused railway line (Maiden Newton - Bridport) up the line a little way and then back over the farm in a big circle back to our car left at the pub.
Many childhood thoughts.

The weather still persists with storms coming and going, black one minute sunny the next.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.