campervan man

By campervan

Not a direct follow on from yesterdays blip

Yesterday I posted a picture of packets of seeds from Russia. These seedlings are not from those seeds; it would be very impressive if they were though.
I am growing, for the third time this year, some Italian black kale. It is a very tasty leaf, hundreds of caterpillars can not be wrong. Both previous attempts of growing this for me, rather than baby butterflies, has resulted in the most beautiful cabbage scented lace leaves. The netting covers put over the kale have been very effective in keeping the caterpillars safe from their natural predators, allowing them to munch away in peace and quiet. I had thought of entering the village Veg and Produce Show but there was not a category for fat but happy Caterpillars. 
I sowed these a bit late and the weather has turned very autumnal but you never know, third time lucky maybe

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.