Lets all meet up in the year 2000

I had an email from Blipfoto to say that my 2000th blip was coming up...usually I miss these special occasions and post a flower or something not very special and then suddenly see I've got a balloon and 100's of comments. So I thought I'd be prepared this time and look for a more relevant photo. Here I was huffing and puffing on my cycle home from work against a monstrous headwind and decided to take a wee break at Irongray Church and I remembered the sandstone monument which celebrated the beginning of the year 2000. I remember the day in January when the 21st century was brand new and snow covered the carpark and the oldest resident of Irongray (our neighbour Mary Mitchell) and the youngest child at Shawhead school cut the ribbon. There's a time capsule buried beneath it, too. I sat there today thinking of all the babies born in Irongray Parish in that year, now old enough to sit their driving tests..

Then when I got home and logged on to Blipfoto, I discovered that my 2000th blip is still 2 days away! So I'll have to be thinking of something else in the meantime.

In other news, I was in the kitchen at the cafe for the first time today. Bill showed me how to make the scones and cakes for the day. Tomorrow that will be my job..it was good to do something different :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.