Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Double Arches

< back blip >

We set out for Arches National Park, as my odyssey through Utah continues.  On the way, we stopped at an overlook at "Park Avenue".

The next stop was at some of the arches.  "Delicate Arch" is the famous one that sits alone on a hill.  I liked these "Double Arches" much better.

These arches are enormous.  For a sense of perspective, look at this in  expanded view There is a person walking up to its base. She's teeny tiny!

After we had lunch, I was casually walking on a flat cement surface enjoying the scenery of the Colorado River and gorge.  Suddenly, my left knee buckled under me and I couldn't walk,  

I tried to get off at Canyonlands National Park but could only manage a few steps.  Our tour guide snapped a couple of pictures for me.  I'm not sure he understands the concept of focus, but it was kind of him to do it. We also stopped at a couple of really gorgeous State parks.  One was Goosenecks.  The other was Dead Horse Point State Park.

Tonight is the last night at the Red Cliff Lodge.  Tomorrow is mostly a travel day.  We have to get from Moab, Utah to Page, Arizona.

Tomorrow, an Antelope Slot Canyon jeep tour with Navajo guides.Then immediately on the bus and the long ride back to Tucson.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.