Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Buff

I am guilty of kidnapping! Yes I confess all!

Yesterday I spotted a couple of these Buff tip large 3" long caterpillars in and amongst the leaves of the beech hedge - wow are they colourful! Knowing time would be of the essence as Tammy wanted the camera today, I knew I would have to get sorted pretty quickly with my blip! I needed a plan! I also found what I think are their egg shells.

I felt no guilty pang as I popped them into a plastic take-away box after piercing some holes in the lid - in too went their breakfast; some nice fresh beech leaves. These are the caterpillars of the night flying Buff tip moth which looks like the bark of a tree, with wing tips of a buff colour that resemble broken twigs. A master of disguise!

My plan worked as in the morning I carefully placed them back at camera level, (no rolling round on the floor getting soaked for me today in the name of blip) banged on the ring-flash and hey presto!

These caterpillars can cause serious damage to the foliage of numerous trees and it was amazing how many leaves had been eaten just overnight in their B&B. They will burrow in the soil in order to pupate usually below their food tree! Am now thinking I might go round again with my box, collect them all and put them somewhere else!
Got to be viewed in large .....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.