Our Journey is a process

By journeysprocess

The River Runs Through It

No, this isn't where the movie was filmed, but it might have been. 

This morning, I awoke to more rain and grey skies.  I packed up and was back on the road at 7:00 am.  Just a few miles down the road, I saw a group (gaggle??? flock???) of wild turkeys running along side the road.  (Not bad joke about joggers, please!).  A little later, I saw a beautiful 8 point stag jump across the road.  A hour later, I saw a moose slowly saunter across the a meadow into the river.  Then, just a short time after all that the rain turned to snow as I drove up over the pass.  Then, descending the pass, another deer jumped right in front of my car causing me to swerve and brake hard.  Other than everything that was on my seats ending up on the floor (me excluded), no damage was done to either of us.  The deer, of course, did not stop to see if I was hurt or not.  

I continued my drive to my final destination only to find that the hotel I had booked was a real junker overlooking a garbage dump!  So much for saving the client's money.  I cancelled my reservation there, and found another suitable hotel that cost about the same.  

I took my bags into my hotel room, unpacked a few things, then went into the bathroom to wash my hands.  I took one look in the mirror and gasped.  The lower part of my right eye was blood red!  I carefully examined my eye and found no swelling, but the eye was very red.  Obviously, I had broken a blood vessel.  But because I have had so many issues with my eyes in recent years, I wasted no time tracking down an opthamologist who was able to see me right away.  I was impressed that no only did he look my eye over carefully, but he did an entire exam in order to rule out any kind of stroke.  In the end, I merely had a small blood vessel that ruptured, likely because of my earlier encounter with the deer.  In spite of the fact that I had my seat belt on, and had not hit my head during the encounter, the force of the abrupt stop might have been enough to cause the rupture.  Anyway, the doctor said it would disappear in a couple of weeks.  

But, in spite of the clouds, rain, snow, and deer, the drive was beautiful!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.