dennismccoy79

By dennismccoy79

City poem

Perched on my city office-stool,
I watched with envy, while a cool
And lucky carter handled ice. . . .
And I was wandering in a trice,
Far from the grey and grimy heat
Of that intolerable street,
O’er sapphire berg and emerald snow….…….
(Wilfred Gibson)
 Except that it wasn’t hot outside when I took this pic from the meeting room. It was cold and wet and windy, and my mind was wandering to hot sunny places, not to arctic snows. I was also fantasising about firing the client, a heavy going and pedantic one.  My preference is for blue sky thinking and creative solutions and I hate being tied down to doing things in a box ticking way.  So, Wilfred Gibson’s poem came to mind; escape, if only I could escape!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.