fotoflarewithclare

By tookie

Undoing Institutional Racism Training

Monday and Tuesday I particiated as an individual in some training put on by The People's Institute which holds these trainings all over the states...mostly institutions send people from their organizations, but I heard about this from fellow blipper Kendall and found some training up in Snohomish county...ones in Seattle were all full. The training was held at the Everett UCC church so there were stained glass windows in the room we were in !  I was able to go just representing myself....also feeling that as a five year retired school bus driver from the Bellevue School District, I may be able to bring back some informative suggestions and a proposal for the district here to send some drivers and other school staff--teachers, administrative folks etc. to some upcoming training sessions.  It was excellent and there was a load of information to take in plus lots of people to share and hear stories from.  I did make a nice connection with a Unitarian minister who sat next to me and we talked during the "lunch hour" a bit on all topics.  
     We are reeling here at home from the recent death of our beloved young 36 year old neice....plans were too sudden for us to make the funeral , but I'm flying back anyways next week and will visit the family then.  It's just been a very sad time in that respect not to mention the horrible slaughter in Vegas.  
       Hold on to your loved ones....make sure you always let them know you love them.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.