Footprints in Photos

By AnnaSpanner

Old skool

I've been hanging on to my clarinet since I stopped playing it in year 11 when the council introduced fees for the school lessons. I played it from year 3 and it took me on some good school trips to see the London Symphony Orchestra, and other music workshops. After all this time I've totally forgotten how to play it. I found the tinsel I use to put over the bell at the end of it for festive performances.

I'm thinking of selling it as its just gathering dust but now I've opened it and reacquainted myself with it, I'm not sure I can. Inside there is a school news letter from 1996. I look at it and can clearly see how out technology has changed on those 16 years. My kids school newsletters these days have colour photos and website links. They get printed by fancy laser jet printers.

Also inside, besides the clarinet is a Chappells paper bag. This shop has long closed down now but it used to be the only place to go for miles to buy clarinet reeds, guitar strings, pianos and sheet music. Nowadays these things are all just a click away on eBay.

Alongside these gems was a handwritten piece of paper with "blur", "oasis" & "altered images" scrawled all over it. Why did we feel the need to express ourselves by labelling our favourite bands on everything? Oh to be young again

Feeling pleased at being reunited with my old friend, I had a little blast at twinkle twinkle little star L joined in with her own lyrics of "stop it mummy, put it back". Quite the jamming session ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.