Toots in Solitude

By Toots

"Standing in Solitude"

Berwick Law and a Standing Stone
which is standing alone
For the gulls have all flown
..away.

Earlier there had been a very promising blip of sunlight catching the whiteness of a thousand gulls that had followed in the wake of a tractor and were settled around the foot of the standing stone. I returned to the scene once other errands had been done. Well then, what did I expect, time does not stand still.

On the walk back home I bent to photograph a dead rat which lay on the pavement with a look of sweet sleeping. As I bent, a passing car stopped and did a long reverse back up the road to me. The driver opened his passenger window and seemed relieved that I had been taking a photograph. He thought I had been doubled in pain or something. How kind people are.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.