Life In Wales

By KarenC

Not to be eaten!

I braved the wind and the rain this morning, and ventured into the forest with Louis and my friend for our regular walk. The trees provided a great shelter from the weather though and we didn't get very wet, although I did have my waterproof trousers and coat on, just in case!

Whilst we were walking these amazing fungi caught my eye and I took a couple of photos, with and without the flash. Although the background is very dark on this shot, I like the way they're lit up and in focus. They look better close up.

I had no clue as to what type of fungi it is or what it's called, so I had a look on google when I got home. It's apparently an Amanita Bisporigera more commonly known as the Death Angel! It contains a toxin which affects the central nervous system and kidneys, and unfortunately usually results in death!

I think I'll stick to buying my mushrooms from the local supermarket!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.