Highly Unsprung

By CynicalWench

Bennachievable

Check out this view. Rain or shine, it's superfly fine. So I pretty much grew up doing Rowantree every year, the Choumans took me the back of Bennachie from Oyne and the 4 peaks not long ago and today, Nature Boy took me up the visitor centre side for the first time then back down the other side to Donview and the Gordon Way.

Oooocha bugger! That visitor centre ascent was a bit (I.e massively) hard on my old legs and windpipes. Didn't help that a two year girl kept overtaking me but what ya gonna do? She had sparkly shoes on too. Total class.

Sam shared his insiders knowledge he'd gleaned from the Ranger. He pointed out hidden settlements and things I would have otherwise never noticed over the threatening meltdown brewing in my upper thighs. He showed me the crofts that were cleared in the clearances and the Laird's (Booooooo! Hisss!) stamp carved on the top where he literally marked his territory like an insecure bully.

The view from the top though, it just feels so good to be there. And then a couple beside us got engaged, that was a warm and fuzzy moment on an already warm and hazy day.

Back down to meet the lazy family members at the Inverurie Garden Centre...Dave won't get out of bed for less than £6.99...which is the price of his favourite garden centre Mac Cheese. Probably. But what's this? "They've changed the recipe!" he cried.

Out with Tess to the Emelie Sande gig at the AECC at night but neither of us are really fans and standing for so many ballads bored the big grandma pants off us so we happily sloped off early pretending to be sullen spoilsports.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.