Highly Unsprung

By CynicalWench

Just who the flip do I think I am: Part Two

Sunday morning visit to drop off Sam at Granda's and to show my mum the ancestry DNA results. She was more interested in me trying to find newspaper headlines from 1905 about her grandma and great grandma...turns out they have quite a tale to tell. So we went raking on the newspaper archive and before we knew it we had lost two hours trying to keep track of how many times her grandma Agnes and great grandma Jessie had got arrested and sent to prison in the early 1900s. She never met or knew anything of them, as her father was orphaned as a child. But boy oh boy did we learn about them from the newspaper accounts. They went to prison...a lot...for a fortnight here and there, got fined....several times...a few shillings here and there. Assault, too much liquor, swearing, theft, it painted quite a desperate tale, quite the opposite to my mum in every way I should stress. One article referred to one of them as an Amazonian Woman for her exploits fisticuffing down the Links. I guess they didn't so much as take no sh*t as dish it out and land themselves in it. Hard lives and desperate measures. My mum took these revelations in her stride (we have lord provosts in the family tree to balance things out but I guess they might also be rogues) but her main interest is piecing together the early life of her much loved and respected father....while I'm starting to wonder who in the family might have inherited the same traits as the much less respectable Agnes and Jessie...heeheehee......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.